YesStyle Haul + YesStyle Review

I’ve actually never had much interest in using YesStyle for quite a long time. I can’t really recall why – I think it’s because I’d heard that YesStyle marks up their website a lot, so I figured, why buy off YesStyle when I can just buy off other sites or even Amazon?

When I first really got into Korean beauty, I was living abroad where Korean beauty brand brick and mortar stores could be found on every corner. Olive Young was my main go-to shop for k-beauty products, but I also frequented Etude House and other brick and mortar stores of my favorite k-beauty brands like peripera, innisfree, CLIO and so forth. It was also easy for me to purchase j-beauty brands as well in my local stores, so there really wasn’t much need for me to do online shopping.

My interest in k-beauty has stayed relatively strong through the years, except in the foundation area. I really like cushion foundations; they’re convenient, they come in cute packaging, and it’s easy to apply. However, most k-beauty brands have very limited shade range, and I’ve got somewhat tanned skin naturally so it was sometimes hard to find a match for me. Coupled with so many glowy, dewy cushions available and very few that suited my oily T-zone, I ended up gravitating away from cushion foundations and focusing more on Western foundation brands. At that time, I lived in an extremely humid, hot and polluted environment; adding onto that my oily T-zone, most things just ended up disintegrating on my face or turning into a vat of oil by the time a few hours had passed.

However I’ve always really liked the convenience of cushion foundations. My skin has changed in the past few years and is much better compared to before, so now I prefer the more your-skin-but-better look rather than full coverage. Although I find that a lot of cushion foundations tend to transfer, at the very least I can touch up wherever.

So, I started taking a look at my cushion foundation collection again. Obviously, everything I owned was basically expired, so I figured it was time for me to purchase some refills and maybe get a few new cushions while I was at it.

Except as I tried to look online for refills, I realized I had a slight problem on my hands, that is… I found out that uh… most of the cushions I owned have been discontinued!

So now, I’m on the hunt for the perfect cushion foundation.

I’m also on the hunt for more cushion foundations that have cushions that can be exchanged with different brand cases. This way, even though the cushions I have are discontinued, hopefully I can find a replacement that will fit in it. You’d be surprised at how many same-brand cushions don’t fit old cases for old cushion foundations…

Another reason I ultimately ended up checking out YesStyle is also because I’ve been interested in discovering more k-beauty brands so as a result, I ended up getting on YesStyle’s website to look around.

Since I’d originally heard pricing on YesStyle was expensive, I was somewhat surprised to see that the prices aren’t actually too terrible when I first logged on. They’re somewhat comparable to Amazon, sometimes cheaper than Amazon, and while I don’t get the 2-day shipping from Amazon, the shipping is free over $59 to the USA and once it does ship, it always arrives pretty quickly. More importantly though is that YesStyle sources from legitimate retailers, whereas I believe there is still a slight danger of getting a fake item off Amazon for whatever reason. The whole “comingling” debate/debacle is still talked about to this day (from what I understand, ‘skincare’ products can’t be comingled, but there are still people who state they’ve received fake products) so better to be safe than sorry in my opinion!

I’m the type of person that likes to buy everything at once in one big purchase, rather than spread out in several purchases. So, I tend to do all my shopping in one sitting then wait several months or longer before I buy anything else. I tend to do this only when I’m shopping online for things that have to be imported to me, whether it be make up, skincare or even video games. It’s just more convenient and the shipping cost is ultimately less this way.

There were a number of sales recently on YesStyle and since I’ve been looking to update my cushion foundation collection I ended up making several rather large purchases. Yes, several. This post only hosts two of my packages that shipped to me. No, do not ask how my wallet is doing, it still hates me right now! 😛

I found that YesStyle was easy to shop and check out with. My only slight issue is that when they “ship” your item, you get a Shipment Notification to your e-mail, but tracking is never provided because the ‘courier hasn’t updated’. This is because they, like many other websites, basically send a ‘shipment’ notification when in reality only a label has created and the package hasn’t actually left their warehouse. This is something pretty much every online store does though, so I’ve just gotten used to it. In my experience, the shipment usually doesn’t ship until 2 or 3 days after you get the Shipment Notification. Then, it takes probably another 3 or 4 days to arrive – depending on how long it has to sit in customs. Obviously, it could take longer due to COVID regulations right now.

For the most part though I found my package arrived quickly. I’ve only had them ship to me via FedEx, but that’s probably because my orders tend to be rather large, and FedEx has pretty cheap international shipping. (Years of importing Japanese otome games has taught me this LOL)

But anyways – who cares about all of that? Onwards towards what I purchased!

Here is a full list of everything I purchased, in no particular order:

  1. rom&nd – Better than Eyes #01 Dry Mango Tulip (Neon Moon Edition)
  2. rom&nd – Better than Eyes #04 Dry Evening Primrose (Neon Moon Edition)
  3. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N01 Dream Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  4. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N02 Fairy Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  5. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N03 Sleeping Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  6. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #01 Pure 21 (Neon Moon Edition)
  7. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #02 Natural 21 (Neon Moon Edition)
  8. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #03 Beige 23 (Neon Moon Edition)
  9. rom&nd – Glasting Water Tint #02 Red Drop (Neon Moon Edition)
  10. rom&nd – Better than Matte Cushion (#03 Beige 23)
  11. canmake – Marshmallow Finish Powder (MB Matte Beige Ochre)
  12. PURITO – Snail Clearing BB Cream (#27 Sand Beige)
  13. Berrisom – Oops Tint Cheek Cushion (No. 1 Sugar Pink)
  14. A’PIEU – Cream Butter Shadow (#2 Ginger Rose)
  15. A’PIEU – Heart on the Cheek (#PK01 Stressy)
  16. Secret Key – Lemon Sparkling Peeling Gel
  17. Dear, Klairs – Mochi BB Cushion Pact (One Shade)
  18. Tattoofield – Cherry Blossom Temporary Waterproof Tattoo Type A and Type B
  19. daymellow – Massage Healer
  20. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Hard Cover Cushion Puff Set (Sweet Peko Limited Edition)
  21. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Hard Cover Glow Cushion (Sweet Peko Limited Edition, #04 Tan)
  22. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Holi Pop Blur Lasting Cushion (#03 Sand Blur)
  23. moonshot – Micro Correctfit Cushion (#301 Honey)
  24. NAKEUP FACE – Babypink Toneup Cushion
  25. NAKEUP FACE – One Night Cushion 2 (#02 Beige Nude)
  26. NAKEUP FACE – Waterking Cover Cushion 2 (#02)
  27. NAKEUP FACE – Coverking Powder Cushion 2 (#02 Silky Cover)

Any normal person would look at this and say “who needs this many cushions at once?”

Me. I do.

I also collect cushion foundations, and honestly, I feel like most people who enjoy using cushion foundations are pretty similar to me; they like to collect the cases and each cushion is different for a different purpose.

My skin is normal with an oily T-zone, however the oily T-zone is usually pretty manageable thanks to my skincare routine.

Recently, due to Winter approaching, my skin has been extra dry (I live in a very dry place!) and with the recent products I’ve been using (those Stridex pads and Retinol) my skin has been a lot drier recently.

Therefore, I ended up purchasing a few moisturizing/dewy cushions, mostly just to test them out. If I were still living abroad, where the weather was wet and humid 24/7, then these cushions wouldn’t even enter my eyes let alone my cart.

That being said, I still prefer the semi-matte finish to dewy finish, mostly because sometimes when I see dewy skin I think ‘am I oily?’

I think I’ve just been too used to my oily skin after all this time. For me, the line between ‘dewy’ and ‘oily’ is really, really thin. I still haven’t quite figured out what ‘dewy’ is compared to what ‘oily’ is, because for me, it’s kind of all been the same up until this point!

Cushions! Minus the HOLIKA HOLIKA Hard Cover Glow Cushion…

Cushions & My Thoughts:

  1. Dear, Klairs – Mochi BB Cushion Pact (One Shade)
  2. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Hard Cover Glow Cushion (Sweet Peko Limited Edition, #04 Tan)
  3. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Holi Pop Blur Lasting Cushion (#03 Sand Blur)
  4. moonshot – Micro Correctfit Cushion (#301 Honey)
  5. NAKEUP FACE – Babypink Toneup Cushion
  6. NAKEUP FACE – One Night Cushion 2 (#02 Beige Nude)
  7. NAKEUP FACE – Waterking Cover Cushion 2 (#02)
  8. NAKEUP FACE – Coverking Powder Cushion 2 (#02 Silky Cover)
  9. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #01 Pure 21 (Neon Moon Edition)
  10. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #02 Natural 21 (Neon Moon Edition)
  11. rom&nd – Zero Cushion #03 Beige 23 (Neon Moon Edition)
  12. rom&nd – Better than Matte Cushion (#03 Beige 23)

Dear, Klairs:

I’m not too sure about the Dear, Klairs cushion as it only comes in one shade. It had good reviews though and the packaging is to die for. I suppose I’ll see what it looks like when I open it up.

HOLIKA HOLIKA:

I’ve never tried HOLIKA HOLIKA cushions, but I do like their lip products and a few of their eye products. I bought the Hard Cover Glow cushion and the Holi Pop Blur Lasting Cushion. Both were on sale if I recall, which was partially why I bought them too. The Hard Cover Glow cushion has the cutest packaging ever – it’s the limited edition Sweet Peko edition, and I didn’t realize that it would come in a literal milk carton box.

You even open it up like you would a regular carton of milk or juice! It’s so cute, I really love it! The cushion case is also adorable as well.

moonshot:

A friend recommended me the moonshot cushion, and I already owned a moonshot cushion which I liked so I decided to purchase that one. She told me it has a very nice, natural finish and I was already interested in trying other moonshot cushions to begin with, so I just bought it. Furthermore, it was on sale!

NAKEUP FACE:

I’ve actually never heard of the brand NAKEUP FACE before. If there’s something I found fun about searching on YesStyle, it was all the different brands there are that I never knew about beforehand. I really only knew about the big, popular brands because they had stores everywhere when I was abroad. I’d never really heard of brands like NAKEUP FACE or Dr. Althea, etc, even when I was in Korea. Or maybe I just wasn’t paying close enough attention? Who knows! These cushions are basically just a different version of their regular versions, hence the ‘2’ after their names. They come in heart compacts instead of the square compacts their original cushions come in. Actually, I wasn’t expecting these hearts to be so huge. When I opened it up, the packaging is like at least a size and a half of my hand and is somewhat unwieldy and hard for me to use. Is it adorable though? Yes! However, my mind imagined these to be somewhat smaller and easy to handle, but instead they’re… rather large. I have pretty small hands so a cushion like this is pretty unwieldy and hard for me to use. These cushions also come in less shades compared to their original counterparts (not that that’s saying much…) so I guess we’ll see how the shades look on my skin after I’ve opened them up!

rom&nd:

Why bother buying all 3 shades of the rom&nd Zero Cushion? Because of that packaging, that’s why. But also, with Winter approaching, my skin does get quite lighter compared to my current shade (which is rather tanned due to a weekend trip to the mountains) so I also wanted to have some shade range for that. I also purchased the Better than Matte cushion because… well, it has the word matte in it, indicating that it probably has a matte finish. I feel like most cushion foundations focus on being moisturizing and dewy, and it’s pretty rare to find matte or semi-matte finish cushions. I’m hoping this one will be good!

Other Products:

  1. rom&nd – Better than Eyes #01 Dry Mango Tulip (Neon Moon Edition)
  2. rom&nd – Better than Eyes #04 Dry Evening Primrose (Neon Moon Edition)
  3. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N01 Dream Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  4. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N02 Fairy Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  5. rom&nd – Better than Cheek #N03 Sleeping Powder (Neon Moon Edition)
  6. rom&nd – Glasting Water Tint #02 Red Drop (Neon Moon Edition)
  7. canmake – Marshmallow Finish Powder (MB Matte Beige Ochre)
  8. PURITO – Snail Clearing BB Cream (#27 Sand Beige)
  9. Berrisom – Oops Tint Cheek Cushion (No. 1 Sugar Pink)
  10. A’PIEU – Cream Butter Shadow (#2 Ginger Rose)
  11. A’PIEU – Heart on the Cheek (#PK01 Stressy)
  12. Secret Key – Lemon Sparkling Peeling Gel
  13. Tattoofield – Cherry Blossom Temporary Waterproof Tattoo Type A and Type B
  14. daymellow – Massage Healer
  15. HOLIKA HOLIKA – Hard Cover Cushion Puff Set (Sweet Peko Limited Edition)

First off, I love the rom&nd Neon Moon collection. It is so cute! I’ve always been interested in trying out their products, and with their stuff on sale, I ended up purchasing most of the Neon Moon collection. Opening up some of the boxes, I found that the packaging of their products is very heavy and sturdy and feels very nice. It doesn’t feel like it’ll break any time soon.

As for most of the other items, to be honest, they just caught my eye and I decided to try them out. Who needs fake temporary tattoos? Not me, but I bought ’em anyways!

I really like BB creams but I feel like most people are gravitating towards full coverage foundations lately, so I find myself having a tough time picking one out. I’ve heard great things about the PURITO one, so I ended up purchasing it for myself. I’ve also been on the hunt for mattifying powders or finishing powders to help set the dewier foundations I bought, which is why I ended up buying the canmake powder. I really love the packaging of canmake make-up, it’s so cute. It reminds me quite a bit of Jill Stuart beauty make up!

I’ve also recently been into cream products, and I’ve been wanting to try out more cream blushes and eyeshadows. Specifically though, cream blushes. Ever since I got the cloud paint blushes from Glossier, they’ve become my favorite types of blushes. Cream blushes just really give this beautiful, natural flush to the skin and I adore them! As a result, I have been picking up as many cream blushes as I can. I bought the Berrisom one because it has the cute puff and looked similar to I think the peripera one? I couldn’t find the peripera one so I figured this would probably be pretty similar. I bought the A’PIEU one because… well… it’s cute and heart shaped and I’ve always been a sucker for cute packaging. Hopefully it’s a good product!

As for the Secret Key Lemon Sparkling Peeling Gel… I actually don’t know if this was a smart product to buy. I know you’re supposed to use it on your face, but I worry that it would hurt my face more than help it. In the end, I purchased it, but only because I actually intend to use it as a body exfoliator instead of a face one. Ultimately, it was on sale for like 6 bucks or something? So I won’t feel too sad if it doesn’t work!

Regarding the massage healer, I opened up the package and was surprised to find that the massage healer was very small. For some reason I thought it’d be a bit bigger. Also, since it has the word ‘massage’ on it, I thought it’d at least have vibrations or something, but it doesn’t have any of that. To be honest, I’m somewhat at a loss with what to do with it. It just feels like it’s another product that’s supposed to be similar to gua sha or those rose quartz rollers everyone’s been on about recently.

Which, side note, I find very ironic that gua sha and such has become popular, considering there’s an old movie based on a gua sha case where mandatory reporters (doctors I think?) thought a child was being abused because they saw the marks from gua sha on the kid’s body. This movie is really old, but I watched it like two or so years ago and now that gua sha styled trends have become popular, I just find it kind of ironic.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I’m pretty happy with my YesStyle haul. I did have one product get cancelled on me due to no stock, which I got an email for. When my shipment finally shipped, I got a refund on that product.

I like that I can go into my Order Tracking and see what the status of my items are – whether they’re ready to ship and in stock, or if they’re waiting on product. The list gets updated when an item has arrived.

The items are all packaged with care – placed in a fitted box with bubble wrap, and all the items are always packed very carefully to ensure that they can’t move around very much.

I’ll definitely keep shopping on YesStyle, especially because they give pretty clear date estimates on how long it’ll take for them to receive certain products, so I feel like I always know what I’m getting into.

Furthermore, the cart even warns you if you have items that are over 21 days so that you can save them for later.

All that being said, while I do like YesStyle, I’m also interested in trying out some of the other popular websites for k-beauty. I like YesStyle because it not only has Korean beauty brands, it also has Japanese and Taiwanese beauty brands so I’m exposed to more new brands I wouldn’t have heard of otherwise. I’m not entirely sure if other websites like Jolse or so have those brands too, but I think those other stores mostly focus on Korean brands rather than other country’s brands. That being said, YesStyle’s korean brands aren’t as numerous compared to other stores (like there’s no Etude House or innisfree or anything? I know they have US presences now, but I know Jolse still hosts EH and innisfree I believe) so that’s also another reason I want to check out other stores like Jolse and SweetCorea.

Overall though, very happy and would definitely recommend!

Feel free to use my referral link here or my referral code RDYJH7 when shopping on the website!

Leave a comment