Peach & Lily Glass Skin Discovery Kit + Glass Skin Veil Mist Review

Image taken from Peach & Lily website

The Peach & Lily Glass Skin Refining Serum really seems to be all the rage these days. I admittedly had never heard of Peach & Lily until I saw this refining serum all over the place, and I became somewhat interested, because, well, I really like that ‘glass skin’ look. I’ve got some trouble spots on my face, but my biggest issue is probably the enlarged pores. I know that you can’t really ‘get rid’ of pores, but you can do things to clear them out and make them smaller. I was hoping to add another product into my skincare routine, and when the Allure beauty box featured a full-sized Peach & Lily Glass Skin Refining Serum bottle, I ended up subscribing for that month.

When I ran out after about a month, I ordered another bottle on their website, and ended up picking up this kit as well as the Glass Skin Veil Mist on a whim.

I’ve been experimenting with my skincare recently, picking and replacing products that I feel aren’t doing much or are not suitable to my skin, and the discovery kit was a good way to wet my feet with Peach & Lily products.

At the time, I was looking to buy a new low pH cleanser and I was looking for a new cream, so I figured, maybe if these products worked, then I would be more willing to spend the money to buy the full sized products.

The products are all trial sized but I feel like I still got a lot of good product for the price. It retails for $39 USD which I feel is rather reasonable.

To begin with, the Power Calm Hydrating Gel Cleanser:

I disliked the scent of this cleanser a lot. It smells almost… chemical? But not exactly chemical. It’s not super strong, but when I’m lathering it all over my face, I just find the smell is a little too chemical-like combined with a little bit of a fragrance. Overall, I don’t like it.

Sadly, I found this cleanser was not gentle on my skin at all. After using it, my skin felt very stripped and tight.

I usually prefer the Hada Labo Gokujyun Foaming Cleanser but a few months ago or so I noticed that the cleanser was starting to make my skin feel just a tiny bit stripped, and on top of that I’ve had a few mishaps in the last few months and as a result, I ended up picking up a CeraVe Foaming Cleanser and a different Neutrogena cleanser to replace my Hada Labo cleanser. I’ve been trying to go through them as fast as I can so I can buy a new cleanser, but I’ve been on the fence on which cleanser to try next.

While others love the CeraVe cleanser, it actually makes my skin very dried out and feel very stripped, so I personally dislike it. It also doesn’t foam at all!?

But this isn’t the point. In the end, I’ve had a fail with all three cleansers – from CeraVe to Neutrogena to Peach & Lily. It’s been somewhat disappointing.

Ultimately, I ended up repurchasing my Hada Labo cleanser and what do you know? It doesn’t strip my skin at all anymore and I’ve been enjoying it as much as I used to.

Anyways, ultimately, 0/10 would not recommend this cleanser.

Secondly, the Wild Dew Treatment Essence:

As you can see in the photo I posted previously, I’m pretty much done using this little bottle.

I’m not really sure how I’m supposed to feel about this essence. It’s rather lightweight, and rather than feel water-y like it looks, it actually has an almost slight, slight viscous kind of feel to it. As a result, it adheres to the skin very well. It sinks into the skin very fast and leaves you feeling hydrated.

And… that’s about it.

It hasn’t really done anything else. The whole idea is that it’s supposed to be full of good ingredients that make you feel ‘as fresh as a daisy’ and while I admit I certainly do feel hydrated afterwards, this kind of effect could be achieved by any other cheap K-beauty or J-beauty toner or essence on the market for half the price and about 2x the size.

To pay $39 for 100 ml of this essence when all it does is hydrate my skin… not worth it. While it does feel nice when I pat it into my skin, it’s certainly not $39 worth of nice feelings.

I definitely wouldn’t purchase the full size of this.

Thirdly, the Glass Skin Refining Serum:

I’d literally never heard of the Peach & Lily brand until I saw this serum crop up a few times on reddit, then I saw a reveal for the Allure beauty box on reddit and saw they had a full size of this serum. I looked around and saw a lot of positive things about this, and got pretty curious about it.

I’ll admit that the words ‘Glass Skin’ definitely caught my attention. I really like that glass skin, flawless look, and I wanted to achieve it myself. I was immediately drawn in to the name and the hype around it, which, if I’m honest, is a trap I tend to fall into pretty often.

I honestly didn’t expect it to do much for my skin, but since the Allure box was $15 at the time I decided to just say fuck it, buy it!

To preface, when I first started using this, I was just getting back into starting up a regular skincare routine again. I hadn’t really done anything for my skin in months (near the start of quarantine) so my skin was just… gross. I wasn’t using moisturizing products, my pores were clogged up, I wasn’t exfoliating, hell – I was barely even washing my face. I was like, I’m not seeing anybody, why bother doing my skincare routine? But my skin was getting really gross. My pores were clogged up and looking huge, my skin was dull, and it was dry due to the weather where I live. I had cycled through most of my products by then and so I finally sat myself down to restart my routine with some new products because when I lived in humid weather, I barely needed anything to keep my skin soft and glowing.

When I first tried this product out, it honestly did amazing things for my skin. My pores were visibly smaller, my skin had a healthier, dewy glow, and the serum is nice and light weight so I never felt oily or gross using it. I thought this was the goddamn best product I’ve ever slapped on my damn face.

HOWEVER….

This was all before I started regularly exfoliating and deep cleansing to keep my pores cleared (with Stridex/oil/clay mask) and this was before I’d introduced any other heavier creams into my routine.

Once I got more products regulated into my routine, I feel like this doesn’t really do much for me. It still gives my skin this beautiful, dewy glow that I truly feel is dewy, and it’s nice and moisturizing without being greasy, but honestly, I feel like it’s probably a product that could be easily replaced with something else. In fact, if I’m honest, my Purito Centella Unscented Serum has a pretty similar consistency that also gives my skin this nice dewy glow and is also a light weight serum. I can’t obviously say they’re exact copies of each other since I believe they have different ingredients, but you get my point – if my serum isn’t doing much other than moisturizing my face, why spend $39 bucks on it?

My other issue is that I feel like I run out of this stuff really fast? I got the full sized sample in the Allure box, which arrived around the end of July (like 2 days before July ended) and I was pretty much running empty at the end of August-ish. I use it morning and night, using one to two pumps each time, so I get that it isn’t going to last me 3 months at a time, but just a month? For a product that costs $39?

If this bottle came in a bigger size at a better price, I feel like I’d be less reluctant to keep it in my routine.

However, at that price and with how fast I’m using it and the fact that it now barely does anything for my skin…

Well, I feel like I should just drop it and pick something else.

It’s not to say that I hate this product, or that I love it, but I feel like I’m mostly just ambivalent to it at this point. I’ve bought this product 3 times now, but I think I’ll probably just try to replace it with something different. As usual, I feel like I bought into the hype and while it did give me good results at first when my skin was still garbage from lack of care, with how my skin is now and the products that I’m using, it just really doesn’t have an impact anymore.

Fourth, the Matcha Pudding Antioxidant Cream:

I’m going to be totally frank: I absolutely hated this cream when I first tried it out.

It was very moisturizing, yes, but the problem was that it was extremely easy to use up too much and make my skin look like an oil spill, and I felt that I was putting way too much time into trying to get the cream to completely rub into my skin. Since it’s green, it’s easy to tell if the stuff hasn’t been completely applied onto your skin because it just leaves behind this green hue.

It was extremely easy to use too much of this cream too, so instead of making me feel moisturized and bouncy, I just felt… greasy and oily and now my skin was green like the Grinch.

On occasion, it felt as though the cream didn’t fully sink into my skin either, instead just leaving this cast of greasiness on top of my skin.

I despised this cream. Literally, hated it with every fiber of my being and it just sat on my counter for days on end without ever being used.

When I first started using the kit, I was only occasionally exfoliating with the Stridex pads and using retinol, so my skin was a little dry but it wasn’t too terrible.

But then I upped the amount of times I was using the Stridex pads and my retinol, and suddenly I was getting huge dry patches around my nose and mouth from these products.

Up until this point, I’d barely used this cream.

As a result of having nothing else to moisturize my skin with, I just ended up using this cream – albeit less of it in hopes that it would moisturize my skin and keep it nice and dewy rather than feel oily.

And my God, did it work!!

It’s definitely one of those ‘less is more’ products so I dab a little bit around my nose, my forehead and chin and rub it in. It sinks in fully and quickly, makes my skin look brighter and dewy and moisturized. It’s got a thick consistency so I use it usually as my second to last cream, after I’ve used my retinol oil. Then I seal it all in with my banila co. Miss Flower & Mr. Honey cream which is one of my all time favorite creams ever.

It still can be quite greasy on my face if I accidentally use too much (which is, quite frankly, very easy to do) and I’m not really a fan of the smell.

Ultimately, with my current routine, this cream fit like a well oiled gear, so I was originally pretty satisfied.

THAT BEING SAID…. I feel that this product is a little expensive ($40 for 50 mL) and while I don’t use much at a time, I can’t say that this product really did anything amazing for my skin other than being a heavy cream. It was extremely moisturizing, yes, and while I do feel that it made my skin somewhat less dull, it wasn’t so amazing of an effect that I find it worth the $40. To be frank, just like the Glass Skin Refining Serum, I could probably find something better.

As a result, when I ran out of the sample size, I chose not to repurchase it and instead bought myself the innisfree Green Tea Balancing Cream Ex.

And in the mean time while I waited for that to arrive, I used the Sulwhasoo Bloomstay Vitalizing Cream sample I got in the kit from my Jolse order which I like well enough as well. (Exept for, you know, that $155 price tag!)

And lastly, the Glass Skin Veil Mist:

All right, I’ll admit it. I have absolutely zero fucking clue why I bought this.

Just kidding, I know exactly why I bought this. My skin is in this weird state right now where it’s still somewhat oily in my T-zone, but it isn’t as oily as before, and is starting to feel a bit drier, due to the retinol oil and the Stridex pads. So, I wanted something I could spritz on my skin to freshen it up if I was feeling dry.

My sunscreen is the Etude House sunprise mild airy finish which is my favorite sunscreen. It mattifies your face which is usually perfect for me because of my oily T-zone. But recently it’ll occasionally dry my skin out (but I won’t stop using it because I just love the feeling of my matte skin LOL) so I figured a product like this might help me out a bit.

I feel like this is one of those products that’s extremely unnecessary in my collection to be frank. It says online it can be used as a setting spray, but I already have my Urban Decay All Nighter and my MAC Prep + Prime Fix+ which I both love, so I don’t know if I’d really want to use it as a makeup setting spray. I could see using it beforehand to get a glow before applying make up, but I haven’t used it in that function so I don’t know if it’ll actually help give you a ‘glow from inside’ look under your makeup.

I’ve really only used this to spritz on my face when I feel dry. I haven’t actually used it with makeup.

The mister is pretty fine for the type of spray top it has, and it does feel like all my skin gets a pretty even amount of mist. Obviously, it’s not the finest sprayer on the planet, so there’s definitely still some areas that get ‘bigger’ drops per se compared to others, but it isn’t bad for the most part.

It does definitely leave your skin dewy and glowing after, which I really liked.

However, spraying it too many times just makes your skin sticky.

Even the first spray I noticed my skin was just a tiny bit more tacky compared to normal, but figured it wasn’t a big deal.

After an hour or two I spritzed again though and my skin definitely felt stickier compared to before.

I tried it again the next day, only to find that I had the same result.

Honestly, just for this, I won’t repurchase it.

I do feel though that since it does live a slightly tackier feeling on your skin, it might actually be really good under foundation. I know that sometimes when my primer makes my skin a little tacky that my foundation does stick really well to my skin and look good but I can’t guarantee that as I haven’t actually tried it.

I personally don’t think I’d use this over my make-up but it might be okay under. However, I didn’t really buy it for that purpose and honestly I feel like I might have misread the purpose of the product when I read about it? So maybe I bought it for a usage that it didn’t really have?

Regardless though, I don’t think I’d repurchase it.

In all honesty, I probably should have just bought a toner and put it in a spray bottle. But hindsight is 20/20 as they say.

Overall, I would say I was kind of disappointed in this entire kit. The matcha was kind of a surprising hit for me, as I really did really dislike it at first. I think if I were my normal skin type, even in Winter this product might be too much for me. Combined with it’s price and the fact that I haven’t really seen it do much for my skin, I have no plans to repurchase it.

For now, I’d rather look around for something else that, if all it’s going to do is be a heavy cream moisturizer, doesn’t cost as much and has a nicer smell at minimum.

As for the essence, it was just… an essence… nothing exciting… and the cleanser was a complete and total dud for me.

I should probably stop trusting cleansers that say ‘low pH’ or ‘gentle’ from now on… I feel like it’s always a trick!

In any case, would I recommend the kit? Nah, obviously.

Ultimately, take everything I said with a grain of salt, because skincare to me is an extremely personal thing. While I do like reviews, ultimately everybody knows their skin best so what products may suit me might not suit you, and what suits you might not suit me.

Basically, your mileage may vary (YMMV)!

Anyways, thanks for reading!

Leave a comment