missBeautyKorea Review

This post is very late, as I received this package ages ago, but I wanted to post it anyways! I looked for reviews when I went to purchase this and couldn’t find that many recent ones (at the time), so I still wanted to get this posted even though it’s been a hot minute.

Anyways!

Autumn/Winter season palettes are some of my favorite palette color schemes when it comes to make-up. Especially k-beauty palettes!

I love the deeper pink/brown shades that come out, the redder and browner hues in palettes as all of those colors look superb on my skintone.

Don’t get me wrong; I also love the S/S season palettes, but they tend to be more pastel and light colored and honestly, with my skin tone, those colors barely (if at all) show up on my eyelids, especially given that the majority of k-beauty palettes are a wash of color, so even though I love how beautiful they are, they honestly aren’t all that practical for me. Does that stop me from buying them? Of course not. But that is not the point here. థ౪థ

Anyways, I’ve been dying to buy the innisfree Vintage Filter collection ever since I saw it featured in one of Minsco’s palette video reviews. I was also considering getting something from the rom&nd Hanbok collection and perhaps picking up something from WAKEMAKE and lilybyred.

The websites I typically use at the time of this purchase (which was honestly quite a while ago, whoops!) – Jolse and YesStyle – either didn’t have any of these products yet, or their collection was small and not what I wanted. Since then, YesStyle got the hanbok collection onto their website, however the innisfree set isn’t available on their website and I actually am not sure if Jolse has the Vintage Filter collection on their website right now but they didn’t have it at the time when I went to purchase it.

I’ve had my eyes on the Vintage Filter collection for quite a while now. I was hoping maybe it’d enter the USA innisfree website, but since it released in October and the websites I usually shop from still didn’t have the set up, and I didn’t know how long it would take until the USA website would put it up (IF they put it up, that is) I just decided to bite the bullet and purchase it myself.

I swear, I hunted around and the only websites I could find that I recognized were TesterKorea and missBeautyKorea. If I recall correctly, TesterKorea is well known for being slow as molasses, and I’ve not really heard of missBeautyKorea before so I was pretty torn on which website I wanted to shop with.

I waited a little longer, hoping the USA innisfree website would eventually get them, but then I saw the rom&nd Hanbok collection and wanted to try the new cushion, and I wanted to get some tints from lilybyred, all of which happened to be available on missBeautyKorea so, ultimately, I picked their website.

First off, I don’t really like the design of the missBeautyKorea website. This is probably the stupidest thing to judge a website on and not the products available, but dear lord the website is just… so… outdated compared to other websites.

I found that the website loaded rather slowly (which I can’t tell is my problem or if it’s something on the missBeautyKorea website’s end) and due to the top banner following you as you scroll, it tends to do this one heavy jump when you first scroll down which can be kind of jarring to watch every time you scroll. The images on the website are stock images which, whatever, I don’t really care. Although sometimes I look at them and they do occasionally make me feel like the website isn’t legit because they’re so… I don’t know. Something I’d see from a scam website maybe? I guess that’s the feel it gives off to me. Ha ha… ( ꒪⌓꒪)

Look, I’m definitely that snob that looks at how convenient and intuitive a website is when I use it and I definitely judge how much I want to use a service based on their website. If the website is barely functioning or is too frustrating to use, I’m definitely the type of person who gets fed up after a while and will just give up on buying what I want if I get too frustrated. I am admittedly not a person with a lot of patience. This is probably a pretty shallow reason to judge on, but that’s just how I am, ha ha….  Σ(゚∀´(┗┐ヽ(・∀・ )ノ

Unlike other websites, there’s no quick cart add and there isn’t even a quick like button under any of the products. There’s also no quick view for quickly adding products to your cart. You have to go to each page and individually select the item.

If you want multiple colors of an item, you have to add them individually. A confirmation screen pops up every time you add an item, which you have to click out of before going to add the next color.

I’ll admit that this annoyed me a liiiiittle bit more than it probably would any other normal person.

If I really know what I want and don’t wanna sit around browsing, then I want to be able to quickly add products in. To be frank, I usually don’t bother to go to a page anymore unless I’m looking up what color lippies I want to buy. Otherwise, I just toss what I want in and want to keep moving quickly lest I be tempted to buy more than what my wallet wants to spend.

Obviously though this isn’t really a deal breaker for me.

Especially because I found that the selection on missBeautyKorea is really superb. Furthermore, they also have a convenient request option where you can find products you want and request missBeautyKorea to purchase the item for you. Some of the items that you’ll find when searching brands will be the “request” items, and it’ll be listed in red at the top of the page when you click on that particular item. I believe the lilybyred lip tints I bought were request items, which I’m pretty sure is why my shipment was delayed slightly but the wait still wasn’t that bad.

I just find that compared to YesStyle (which honestly feels like it has the same stuff every time I look at it) and Jolse (which I really like more for skincare compared to make-up) that missBeautyKorea has a lot of the most recent collections as soon as they drop or before they drop (for pre-order), and there’s more brands for me to explore that I haven’t heard of (or seen) which is always a fun experience for me as I love browsing websites and finding new brands to pick out and try.

I do hope to try out the request function some time in the future, as I really want the ma:nyo No Mercy cushion (but it’s currently sold out in my color on their website -_- when will you restock, ma:nyo??) but based on a quick glance on the website, it seems pretty easy to use so I’m excited to try it out.

Anywho, as you can see right on their front page, they directly feature a lot of the latest collections and collabs that are released by big brands. For me, it was namely the Vintage Filter collection and the Hanbok collection.

I also like that collections are grouped together by the website, so I can just select the collection and go from that page to pick out what I want or browse what items I like the most in an entire collection.

After adding items to your cart, you can click on the cart and view how much the items cost individually, how much your total is, and how much the weight of your items are.

Unlike YesStyle, the price of shipping is not baked into the prices of missBeautyKorea’s items. Shipping is measured by the weight of the product.

However, from what I saw online (from older reviews) is that it’s possible missBeautyKorea rounds up some of the “expected weights” of the products for shipping. You pay for the whole price, items and international shipping all at once. Due to COVID, there’s like 2 options right now which is EMS and DHL I think. EMS ended up being the cheaper option so I just picked it, despite the fact that I dislike EMS. But DHL was like $10-$15 more, and shipping was already at like $40 something with EMS, so I just grit my teeth and picked EMS.

I placed the order November 10th and the order shipped out on November 18th.

When I placed the order, I got 3??? confirmation e-mails??? which I thought was strange. The second time I placed an order with them I think I got 5 confirmation e-mails… No clue why it does that or what’s going on, but it’s a little annoying to be honest. (ㅎ-ㅎ)

EMS is my least favorite shipping method (I find it slower and more expensive compared to the cost of other shipping companies) but it took about 5 days or so to arrive to my house if I recall correctly. Everything came packaged nicely with lots of bubble wrap and I liked the way they placed everything in the box.

It also came with lots of samples packed nicely in a little plastic slip.

I also think it’s cute that they added a card with the samples. The amount of samples I got were pretty good, and I’m pretty pleased in that regard.

Here’s a list of the items I purchased:

  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Filter Lighter Trio
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Filter Lighter Brush
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Smudge Blur Lipstick #01 Vanilla Pink Fliter
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Smudge Blur Lipstick #02 Milky Rosy Filter
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Vintage Filter Blur Pact
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Vintage Filter Blusher Palette
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Vintage Filter Color Cara Mascara
  • Innisfree [Vintage Filter Edition] Vintage Filter Eyeshadow Palette
  • Lilybyred Juicy Liar Water Tint #04 Like a Black Berry Tequila
  • Lilybyred Juicy Liar Water Tint #03 Like a Plum Martini
  • Lilybyred Juicy Liar Water Tint #02 Like a Cherry Crush
  • Lilybyred Juicy Liar Water Tint #01 Like a Guava Mojito
  • Rom&nd Clear Cover Cushion SPF50+ PA+++ [Hanbok Project] #03 Beige 23
  • KLAIRS Supple Preparation Unscented Toner

Here’s a super fast review of some of the products I bought:

Look at this super cute collection! I’ll admit the boxes are much cuter compared to the actual packaging, which was a little disappointing, but I’m still super happy. I ended up buying everything in the collection because I couldn’t bear to not have it all!

The brush is very soft and just the right size for under eye in my opinion, and the lippie products are skinny and tiny but very pretty. They’re matte lip colors, so I don’t use them often other than to do a gradient lip. I originally was only going to buy one but… well… I couldn’t resist buying both.

The mascara holds a curl well but due to the fact that it’s like a mauve-pink color, it isn’t a color I’d probably wear daily. It definitely colors your lashes well, but I would say that it might be too much if you pair it with a pink look with the eyeshadow palette as it can definitely add to the “puffy” look if you use too many pinks. The face pact was nice, and the bottom pops open for a little puff that you can use the pact with, which I thought was adorable.

The face highlighter was cute as well and reminds me of kaja cosmetics. It’s 3 highlighers in a stack and the top highlighter is one of my favorites to use as an inner-corner highlight right now. It’s like a silvery shade with a slight pink tint to it and it just really stands out when I put it on my inner-corner.

The blusher palette is exactly my type of color scheme – all the colors look good on my skin, but my favorite especially is the top pink color. I’ve really been liking that pinky, natural flush recently, and this palette was an instant must have.

The eyeshadow palette is also gorgeous, and the colors are super pigmented. I’ve been using this palette a lot lately, and I absolutely adore it! It is relatively easy though to get a “puffy-eyed” look with some of the pinks in the top line of the palette though, so it’s definitely a palette I’ve had to experiment with to make sure I’m not making my eyes look too puffy.

The two glitters in the plaette are also gorgeous. They’re more of the “topper” glitter type than an all-over shimmer color, and I absolutely love the pink glitter shade.

I’ve been eyeing these Juicy Liar Water Tints for ages now and finally managed to snag all four off missBeautyKorea. These colors are super gorgeous, and this tint is beautiful on the lips. I prefer wet lippie products compared to matte or mousse ones, and these ones are very beautiful. They’re high gloss but not sticky, and they leave a really gorgeous tint behind when they fade. However my only annoyance is that they sometimes leave that kind of weird, gooey tint residue (I have no clue how else to describe it!) on my lips occasionally, which I honestly find a lot of tints do so I can’t tell if it’s me or if it’s the tints…

I got this cushion frm the hanbok collection, and I eventually ended up ordering more from this collection at a later date because I couldn’t resist the Glasting Water Tint colors or the highlighter. This cushion is a new one in the line up of rom&nd cushions, and I thought it would be a sort of light, dewy cushion, but I found that it has pretty decent coverage and it dried down to a more powder finish. I did notice that if I used too much at once and don’t prep the puff with the right amount, then it definitely looked cakey on me.

Lastly I bought another Klairs Unscented Supple Preparation Toner. It was on a flash sale for $6 USD so I had to pick it up because I had just run out of mine, I wanted to try the unscented version, and goddamn was that price cheap as hell. I like it quite a bit, although it feels less… silky? compared to the scented version to me. That being said it does a great job of making my skin soft and prepping it for the next steps, so I still do enjoy this one a lot and I’m really glad there’s no scent.

Overall, I do feel pretty happy with my entire purchase and missBeautyKorea.

Although missBeautyKorea isn’t my favorite website to shop from, the pros outweigh the rather minor cons that, at this point, are mostly just personal preference to me, so I’m quite happy. Admittedly the website is not the best in my opinion (especially compared to other websites) but I can survive the minor inconvenience. Although, it was kind of annoying to have to delete all the items from my first order from my cart (which, for some reason, did not clear after I made my purchase?) before I started adding items for my second round with missBeautyKorea, but these are all things I can live with.

My second order shipped a little faster than my first order (ordered on December 12th, shipped December 18th) but it wasn’t a huge difference, and I assume it was faster because I didn’t have any request items in it. All that said, with COVID (and honestly even without COVID), I find that the time it took to ship my order out was extremely reasonable so I really have no complaints there.

I do live in the USA though where we don’t have custom taxes, so if you’re looking to import to a country with custom taxes, I’m not sure how well missBeautyKorea handles that. I did see another review from someone in the UK that didn’t seem to have too many issues with them, and it does look like based on website reviews/activity that they do ship to a lot of international countries, so I’m assuming they know their way around the block.

I feel like every single one of these shopping websites has their own advantages and disadvantages, so I’m having a hard time figuring out which one is my favorite. They all sort of serve a different purpose for me depending on what they heavily feature on their websites. I’ll definitely continue using missBeautyKorea in the future, but probably not as often compared to Jolse or YesStyle.

I swear though like nobody stocks the ma:nyo cushion except Shopee (which I don’t think ships to the USA?) and I have to say I am very sad because I saw some good reviews of their No Mercy cushion and I really wanna try it out myself! When will you restock, ma:nyo??? Sigh.

Anyways, thanks for reading!

Leave a comment