LANEIGE Neo Cushion Glow First Impressions

I love cushion foundation.

I also happen to own a lot of it.

Like… probably around 100 or so cushions. Yes, I have a problem. It is fine.

Anyways.

I really love cushion foundation. I love everything about it – from the concept, to the limited edition compacts, the portability, etc. etc. I just love it. I like having the ability to fix up my makeup on the go and, to be honest, I also like having a unique and cute compact for me to check up my makeup in.

Don’t judge, I know you love aesthetic too.

I’ve owned the LANEIGE Neo Cushion Glow and it’s sibling, the LANEIGE Neo Cushion Matte for a while now, but I haven’t really tried it out other than playing around with it a few times before I wash my face just to test out the color match.

I got the shade #25N in both cushions, and am happy to say they match my skintone really well. The one thing I’ve always liked about Laneige is that they’ve always had a bigger shade range for their cushion foundations compared to others. Which is not that hard because Korean foundations set the bar extremely low for foundation shades, but that also isn’t the point. It also really isn’t saying much because when I say more shade range, I mean they have like 4 shades instead of 1 or 2. BUT ANYWAYS.

I decided to try out the glow cushion because I only had a few errands to run and it would be a good test to see if this can hold up against a mask. This is only a quick first impressions because I haven’t tried out this cushion with primers I’m used to or anything so I feel like the result of how my skin looked after wearing this cushion today has been altered due to the primer I used.

For reference, the primer I used today was Tatcha’s The Silk Canvas primer. This primer does a good job of filling in pores and feels very silky and nice on the skin. It also does a decent amount of evening the skintone out, but it mostly just makes me look a little ghostly if I just put it on.

First off, the cushion design is so cute. I love the rounded square look and I like that the cushion doesn’t pop out like others, it’s a twist and then pull out cushion so the casing is uniform all around and there’s no hole on it like other cushion foundations.

The puff is really cute and soft and easy to use. Even after pressing down hard and patting it down a few times, I would say the puff gets a pretty even distribution of foundation and it comes out pretty light. It’s also different in design compared to the matte cushion. The glow cushion puff is more like the standard porous cushion, while the matte cushion when you bend it outwards it has more like slits/holes evenly distributed across the puff. If you hold it flat, the center of it looks like it has no openings at all. I thought that was pretty interesting.

I prefer a lightweight foundation, one that’s kind of ‘your skin but better’, and this cushion gives the perfect amount of buildable coverage.

I was able to get a very nice, mostly sheer to light coverage with this cushion. So long as you pat the puff onto the back of the cushion case, it’s pretty easy to get just the right amount of foundation on the puff and onto your skin.

It’s also easy to build up. My face was particularly rosy, and I built up the coverage around on my cheeks, and it didn’t look cake-y or like I had makeup on.

The cushion has a very lightweight scent that personally, I am in love with. I don’t know how to describe it but it has a very sweet and fresh scent that I really enjoy!

The cushion dried down and looked somewhat dewy on my skin, but nothing overbearing. I ended up setting the cushion with my innisfree Pore Blur Pact all around my T-zone where I tend to get oily.

I didn’t do much else after I used the pore blur pact; only blush (berrisom Oops! Ting Cheek Cushion in 01 Sugar Pink) and I did light shading with the peripera Ink V-Shading in 03 Hazel Gray. Highlighter was my MAC Cosmetics Extra Dimension Skinfinish / Moon Masterpiece in Double Gleam (the koi fish one for CNY).

I wore the foundation for around 8 hours and it held up relatively nicely.

Even without the powder, the finish was very blurred and beautiful. It didn’t sink into my pores at all but that might be because of the Tatcha primer.

It also held up well under a mask. I only wore a mask for about two hours in separate intervals (with about an hour interval inbetween) to run to the grocery store then get a pedicure.

The foundation barely transferred onto my mask. It only transferred a tiny bit on the cheek area. I also didn’t see much transfer on my nose area.

From afar the makeup looks fine, but when I look closely in the mirror I noticed some things I didn’t like.

Specifically on my nose. My nose today was super dry and patchy and I couldn’t figure out why. The foundation was smooth over it at first, but as time went on, it did cling a tiiiinny bit in the ridge of my nose between my nose and my cheeks, but honestly, it was not noticeable. I only noticed because I stuck the mirror right up there to look at it.

My primer also pilled on my nose which made my nose look bad, but that I believe is the issue with the primer, not my foundation, so that’s whatever.

Of course, being an oily T-zone gal using a dewy foundation (even if I set it and mattified it with my innisfree powder) I was somewhat shiny by the end of the day. However, it mostly just made my face look dewy, and wasn’t over the top. It was a bit oily when I touched it, but surprisingly the foundation didn’t transfer even when I swiped my nose area. Also, the oiliness was located solely to the area around the tip of my nose and the subsequent skin around that area, so like the sides of my cheeks and under my nose – basically, around the area that got the most hot due to my breath being trapped in the mask, so I can’t tell if this is a result of my skin being oily or just a result of hot air being trapped in my mask on a relatively warm day.

Regardless, I’m still pretty happy with the results.

The finish is just so beautiful and I really enjoyed how it looked even after I got a bit oily at the end of the day. To me, the foundation has a lot of pros and I will continue to use it. Also, the pink cushion case is just so cute!

I do also own the matte version which, surprisingly, I felt was almost too matte and the finish didn’t look as good as the glow foundation, but now I’m curious to see if the matte one will make it so I don’t get oily or as oily compared to the glow cushion.

But alas, a test for another day.

Anyways, thanks for reading!

One thought on “LANEIGE Neo Cushion Glow First Impressions

  1. Pingback: 2023 Yearly Recap – { Honey + Bunny }

Leave a comment