Beauty of Joseon Glow Serum: Propolis+Niacinamide First Impressions

I say this literally every post, but how has time passed by so quickly!? It’s already August!!??? I can’t believe 2022 is already more than halfway over, and 2023 is coming up soon. I know this happens every year but geez, it’s been a wild ride. Somehow though, we’re over halfway through the year and I feel like I haven’t hit half of the goals I’ve wanted to for this year.

Oh well, onto different things, eh? Today I’ll be reviewing a product that, for some reason has become a hit product recently? From the Amazon.com description:

  • [Inflamed skin] This product is designed to improve skin with inflammatory problems. 59.94% of propolis extract, which is rich in anti-inflammatory ingredients, helps relieve skin troubles, 2% of niacinamide, reduces skin troubles by balancing oil and moisture, and 0.5% of betaine salicylate helps remove sebum in pores are blended together.
  • [Honey-like texture] It has viscosity like honey, and leaves a subtle glow of moisture, but isn’t oily nor sticky.
  • [Propolis] There is a record that women in the Joseon Dynasty used honey and grain powder as a wash-off mask pack to care for their skin. Honey is rich in anti-inflammatory properties, making it an effective ingredient for hydrating the skin and fighting acne.
  • [Niacinamide] It helps keep the skin tone be more clear and clean by reducing the mobility of melanin, the main cause that darkens the skin tone, and balances oil and water, which is effective for reducing skin troubles.
Amazon.com Description

Beauty of Joseon is an older Korean skincare brand – or, I guess the more accurate statement is, it’s not a new brand like some of the Korean skincare brands that have been popping up on the radar recently. Like it’s name, it used to be known for it’s rather interesting and ancient looking Korean packaging. For example:

The only other Beauty of Joseon product I’ve used is the above cream, the Beauty of Joseon Dynasty Cream. It was actually not a bad cream – I did quite like it, it was light weight and moisturizing without being greasy. It had a very, very mild scent and the price point wasn’t bad either, if I recall. I think I got it on sale for like $10.00 on the regular. They did do a refresh recently though, and now the packaging looks like every other plain circular frosted glass cream.

I personally think their little spin on making their products resemble ancient items was pretty cute and unique, but perhaps it wasn’t selling well?

Well, regardless, I only used that cream a few times before deciding to switch it out with something else.

Beauty of Joseon is a skincare brand that usually flies under the radar for me and I’ve never had much interest in using their products. But the glow serum has literally been everywhere recently and keeps cropping up for me, so I picked up a bottle from Stylevana to try out. I think it was only $10.00, which isn’t bad.

The serum itself is pretty thick. It doesn’t really slide around, and has a viscosity to it. It’s very easy to spread around on your skin.

It has a very nice, smooth and jelly-like consistency that’s a little sticky almost. It sinks into the skin beautifully, and absorbed really quickly on my face. It definitely feels moisturizing, and gives your skin this really beautiful glow.

However, I definitely should have been more wary of a product that emphasizes glow.

While it does feel nice and made my skin SUPER soft the next morning, I found that applying it during the day it makes my T-zone oilier by at least like 4x.

It’s the Summer time here, and the weather outside regularly hits 95+ degrees, making it extremely hot. So I tend to sweat when I leave the house. But even when I don’t go out and stay inside all day, I find that my T-zone is drenched in oil by 3 or 4 in the afternoon. I’ve even been using my matte sunscreen, the Etude House mild and airy sunprise sunscreen which tends to make my face matte literally all day without any issue, and even that sunscreen couldn’t stop my T-zone from becoming an oil slick.

As a result of how oily my skin has been, I’ve had a few small zits pop up in my T-zone, but they’ve for the most part gone away once I stopped using the glow serum during the day.

I still use it at night as it makes my skin super soft and moisturized the next morning, but I’ve been skipping out on using it during the day.

Honestly I really do like the serum, I just find that it’s a bit too much for my type of skin, especially now during the Summer. However, I feel like this might be really good to use in the Winter, when my skin suffers from all of the dryness in the air. So I might repurchase it in the Winter months to see if my skin has a different reaction to it at that time.

Honestly, despite using it for a few weeks now, it hasn’t really done much to my skin other than make it really soft to the touch and very moisturized. This is really nice, and for the price point it’s not a bad product.

Overall, I’d give it a solid 3.5/5 for now. Good, but not great. I might change my mind though depending on how it does in the Winter time.

Anyways, thanks for reading, and I hope everyone is having a peaceful Summer!

Leave a comment