Quick Skincare Product Reviews 2 – Laneige, Isla, and More

Coming at you with some quick skincare product reviews! These are mostly products I’ve used recently that I didn’t want to put into a single review, so I’m just sticking them into this review.

I like writing these combined posts because I feel like I don’t have to write as much for each product since there’s so many products LOL. I also don’t have to take as many photos.

(Me, who only takes like two or three photos for each review I do anyways)

Anyways, let’s begin!

Isla Tone Balance Elixir

Here is the product information on the website for this toner:

This formula reduces redness, plumps tired skin, brightens, clarifies and hydrates. Use to treat uneven, acne prone or dull looking skin, or as part of your regular skin maintenance routine.

Isla Beauty Website

I mentioned this in my It’S SKIN Hyaluronic Acid Moisture Toner review, and I had a chance to use it recently. Quite frankly, I’ve only used it once, because my God is the scent of this toner disgusting! It’s sold out on the Isla website currently and apparently is it’s most popular product? I honestly can’t even say how it made my skin look after I used it because I couldn’t stop focusing on how utterly revolting the smell of this toner was.

I’m not even someone who’s super sensitive to scents either but my God I could not stand the smell of this toner. I put it down and pretty much vowed to never use it again. I can’t even describe how it smelled – like moldy, rotten medicinal herbs maybe? I’m not sure – but the smell was so gross I have literally no desire to use this product ever again. It might sound silly, but good lord I just can’t handle that smell… Lol!

Dr. Jart+ Teatreement Toner

Here is the product information on the website for this toner:

A purifying toner that clears the way to better skin by removing excess oil without disturbing skin’s moisture

Dr. Jart+ Website

This toner honestly doesn’t smell great either – like artificial tea tree oil but a bit more mild – but I do like the effects of this toner. I’ve used it several times and have seen a visible reduction in the redness on my skin afterwards, and it definitely helps calm my skin down after I’ve exfoliated. So I do gravitate towards this toner but usually only on the days I exfoliate.

It’s obviously going to be my main balancing toner now considering how bad the Isla toner smelled lmao. I don’t have any other toners that have this function, so I don’t really have much choice, I guess? That being said, I probably wouldn’t repurchase this. It’s definitely not a product I super need, and I think this was in like the $12.99 area (originally $30) so I don’t know if it’s super worth it to keep buying it when I clearly don’t use it often enough.

Not a bad toner, but it’s not really a necessity in my skincare routine. It’s honestly not even a want either. But the price was cheap and I was curious, so I bought it anyways. I don’t know if I’ll repurchase this one – I guess we’ll see how long it takes me to use it up.

innisfree Intensive Long-Lasting Sunscreen EX SPF50+ PA++++

From the Ohlolly Website:

Prevent harmful sun damage with the Intensive Long-lasting Sunscreen that’s ideal for daily use including outdoor activities. This long-lasting formula not only provides strong UV protection of SPF 50+ PA++++, but is also highly water-resistant! Made with sunflower seed oil to keep skin moisturized, plus Jeju green tea extract and centella asiatica to soothe and calm redness. The creamy formula dries quickly without any white cast, leaving skin refreshed and ready, with zero sticky residue.

Ohlolly Website

I was pretty excited to try this sunscreen out! I’d heard a lot of good reviews about it, and it’s a long-lasting sunscreen that is also mattifying. It has a scent as is typical of most facial sunscreens – it smells a bit artificial but it’s nothing too overwhelming in my opinion. That being said, while I did like the results of the sunscreen – it kept my skin mattified all day, and there was no white cast or anything of the sort – unfortunately, it plugged up my pores so I discontinued using it. It kind of sucks because I did really like the finish of this sunscreen but the plugged up pores just wasn’t worth it.

Laneige Water Bank Blue Hyaluronic Acid Essence Toner for Oily & Combination Skin

From the Laneige USA Website:

Intensive hydrating essence toner that gently removes the flakiness and replenishes the skin with moisture without any shine to reveal a healthy skin texture.

Laneige USA Website

Boy is the name of this product such a doozy to say and type out. I’ve liked pretty much everything else I’ve tried in this line so I bought the toner since I saw it was on sale on YesStyle. The toner is very lightweight and watery and has the same subtle scent the other products in this line have. I like it quite a bit – it moisturizes and absorbs into the skin beautifully, and layers with other toners really nicely. The hydration has done wonders for my skin during this dry Winter, and I feel like this would work well during Summer too since it’s so lightweight. Man though trying to get ahold of these products has been kind of a nightmare – no website has stock of the full line up of this, and I don’t want to buy it at Sephora or off the Laneige website at full price. I’ve had some good luck recently – I got the face cream for oily and combination skin on sale for $25 (ori. $40), I got a special set of the serum (50 mL full size + 25 mL tube size) for $30 (just the 50mL is $45 normally) and the toner on sale too for like $20 so that’s been nice, but I’ve had to order two or three at a time from different websites and wait for stock to come in before having it shipped to me. It’s just been kind of exhausting to do so, which is why I buy so many at a time LOL (esp. because I go through it all so fast!). I guess I could just buy it full price in person at Sephora but… I just can’t pass up a good deal LOL.

ISNTREE TW-Real Bifida Ampoule Serum

From Soko Glam:

Improve overall skin health with the TW-Real Bifida Ampoule from Isntree that nourishes, strengthens skin barrier, brightens, and improves skin texture. Great for all skin types!

This thin, non-sticky formula infused with 88% of concentrated bifida ferment lysate strengthens the skin barrier for elastic skin, smoothing the appearance of wrinkles. It’s also enriched with Pumpkin Ferment Extract, Soybean Ferment Extract, and Rice Ferment Filtrate to protect skin from external aggressors that can prematurely age skin while brightening and evening skin tone and texture.


pH of 6.0 ± 1.0. Cruelty free and formulated without artificial fragrances, parabens, sulfates, artificial colors, animal products, alcohol, mineral oils, essential oils, or silicone.

Soko Glam

I actually got this for free as a prize from Stylevana I’m pretty sure? I remember signing up for it and then being surprised when it suddenly arrived in the mail because I’d completely forgotten about it LOL. Anyways I’ve never tried any products from isntree before so I was curious as to what this was about. I didn’t really look up anything about it, I just incorporated it into my routine. The serum is really light weight, almost oily in texture, but not full on oil. It’s definitely a very thin serum and it coats and sinks into the skin really nicely. It’s not sticky or oily feeling at all, and while I can’t really comment on elasticity, I definitely feel that this helps brighten my skin quite a bit. I have some redness that definitely calms down after using this, however I haven’t seen any long term effects so far. That being said, I’ve only been using it for a few weeks now. The product is usually around $29.50 (sometimes on sale for like $15 on YesStyle) but I’m not really sure if I’d repurchase it? My skin definitely has looked a bit better since I started using it, but I don’t really feel like it’s worth the price – at least, not the original price. Maybe on sale I might pick it up, but that’s a big if.

Mario Badescu Skin Care Rose Body Soap

From the Mario Badescu Website:

Pamper skin with this rejuvenating, Rose-infused body wash.  Formulated with a floral blend of Rose Oil and Rosewater – and without the use of drying surfactants like Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) or Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLES) – this shower gel lathers up into a light, frothy foam.  Skin is left hydrated, soft, and scented with the sweetest hint of Rose.

Mario Badescu Website

I bought this on a whim at Marshall’s for like $4 or $5 dollars. I needed a new body soap and this brand is pretty famous so why not? LOL.

I actually had no clue the original is like only $8.00 so it’s not that much of a deal, but I bought it because I liked the smell. It’s pretty strong though, and quite sweet smelling? But that’s just what I like so I enjoyed the smell of it. It does make my skin pretty soft afterwards, but washing it off initially I felt it made my skin kinda dry, but once I patted down my skin was really soft to the touch, and the scent lingers really nicely. Overall not a bad product. I don’t really think you can screw up a body soap though so I’m not like, insanely impressed, but at least I like the scent and the bottle size is really nice. I also like that the top reminds me of a bendy straw in a water bottle that you pull out LOL.

As you can tell by my recent posts, one of my biggest vices recently has been picking up Korean skincare at Marshall’s and TJ Maxx. I just can’t pass up the good deal on some of that stuff, especially since it’s so easily accessible locally and I don’t have to wait for shipping.

Anyways, as per usual thank you for reading and I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a comment