Meiking x Modern Sky 4 Colors Eyeshadow Palette Review

This should surprise nobody, but I put in another Chic Decent order shortly after posting my other two reviews/first impression posts and ended up getting myself more makeup LMAO. I mostly bought the rest of the Flortte Nice to Meet Chu lippies, but I did splurge on a few other things as well. This was one of them.

This mini four palette eyeshadow palette from Meiking was on sale. There are two color shades – a more orange-y color scheme, and then this one, which I believe translates to Wild Berry Chorus (野莓合唱). I liked the pink colors and that dark red color, which looks particularly good on my eyes. To be honest, this eyeshadow palette is really redundant in my collection because I have another palette, an innisfree one, that has similar to basically the same shades in it LOL.

But I couldn’t resist! Plus it was on sale at the time. The single is no longer on sale, however you can get both palettes for like $12 USD I think instead of $14 USD. So not much of a difference, but hey, every cent counts, am I right? LOL.

As I’ve stated previously, I always assumed Chinese makeup brands would go for a similar style that Korean makeup brands have; that is, a very light, wash of color type of eyeshadow formula that isn’t ultra pigmented.

However, this mini eyeshadow palette is quite pigmented. To be honest, it’s about as pigmented as the innisfree eyeshadow palette that I own.

I’ve already used this eyeshadow palette for a couple of days now, and can safely say that I absolutely adore the colors in this palette. I was worried the colors would show up warmer when they arrived due to screen color differences, but was happy to see the colors were exactly as shown in the pictures as well.

I went in the first time with far too heavy a hand, so the eyeshadow appeared on my eyelids super pigmented. However, the lightest shade is a good buffing shade, so I was able to diffuse the heavy mauve color pretty easily with a combination of a clean brush as well as the lightest shade to diffuse the edges. The red looks really gorgeous in the corner of my eye, and really pops when paired with a champagne colored shimmer shade. I usually pair this with the champagne shimmer shade in the Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk palette (one of my absolute favorite eyeshadows).

As per usual, the glitter in this eyeshadow palette is pretty similar to other glitters in East Asian makeup; it’s very much NOT a shimmer, but more like a glitter topper. It’s very pretty, but I prefer shimmers to accent my matte shadows with rather than just glitter, so while I like the glitter, it’s true that this palette can’t be a standalone for me as I prefer a shimmer to go with it. That being said, I can also use a highlighter as a shimmer instead, so it’s not as if I HAVE to pack another palette if I just bring this one.

The eyeshadows are pretty pigmented, and they’re SUPER soft. Very buttery smooth, and there’s hardly any fall out either. You definitely can’t use too much of that red shade though, because sometimes it’ll make your eyes look puffy as a result (as is typical with most reddish shades).

I’ve used this palette a couple times now. I have pretty oily eyelids, so I’m used to eyeshadows sometimes getting a bit muddied or smudging as the day wears on. I use this under the Milani eyeshadow primer, my typical eyeshadow primer, and I have to say, even after a full day of wearing this, the colors don’t get muddied, they don’t crease, and they tend to stay put no matter what. Because of my oily eyelids, I find that a lot of eyeshadows tend to crease after a couple of hours. It’s not too noticeable because of my hooded eyelids, but I obviously still prefer my eyeshadows to not crease after a few hours.

The colors stay vibrant after a full day, and none of the colors get muddied when layered on top of each other or mixed with each other. You definitely need a light hand with the darker shades otherwise you’ll end up using too much, but even the lighter shade is pretty pigmented on my skin. I think if I built it up, I could definitely get it to show up without issue, but usually I just use it as a base shade to set my eyeshadow primer.

Overall, I was really pleased with this palette. It’s small, but this shade combination has become one of my favorites recently. I actually do like that it’s such a small palette – it’s very easy to slip into a small purse and take it with you wherever. I almost got the matching lippies that go with this palette series, but decided against it because I have so many similar lip products (and also the fact that I’d purchased like 10 lippies in this order LOL) that I ultimately ended up tossing it out of my cart.

That being said, I do think that due to how small this palette is, it feels a bit overpriced considering this palette alone is $6.99 when not on sale. I think I got mine on sale for like 4 or 5 dollars, which is a bit more reasonable, but any way you look at it for such a small palette… it’s kind of overpriced. So it’s kind of hard to recommend it, especially because you can buy other larger palettes with this color range at a probably similar price point.

Regardless, I do like this palette quite a bit and don’t regret buying it.

As always, thanks for reading and I hope everyone has a wonderful Valentine’s Day holiday!

One thought on “Meiking x Modern Sky 4 Colors Eyeshadow Palette Review

  1. Pingback: 2023 Yearly Recap – { Honey + Bunny }

Leave a comment