Lori-Lori Clip On Earring Review

The Instagram algorithm gets me again…

This wasn’t a targeted ad though, it was just a reel that I came across while doom scrolling on Instagram. Lori-Lori is a Dutch jewelry brand based out of I believe the Netherlands? It was founded by two women and focuses on quality jewelry using real pearls and non-tarnish jewelry at a relatively affordable price.

I have pierced ears. However, I got them done when I was like a middle schooler, and as such, I pulled the studs out before the year long period you’re supposed to keep them in to prevent them from closing. I still have holes in my lobes, however, because my lobes are much thicker than other people’s, I was worried they’d closed up internally despite the fact that the holes are still visible in my front and back of my lobe.

I also have this really weird fear of earrings? I don’t know, something about poking something into my ear, even though I know it doesn’t hurt just… wigs me out? Yeah, I’m weird.

Maybe Instagram knew I was thinking about wanting to either re-pierce my ears or try to shove an earring through my earlobe and see if it would go through because I started getting ads for clip-on earrings instead.

I liked the look of the jewelry from Lori-Lori, so I decided to give it a try. I prefer gold and rose gold jewelry over silver jewelry, although I do have some silver jewelry. It should be noted that Lori-Lori is like, basically always out of stock of almost everything that they have. You definitely have to sign up for their watchlist and keep a serious eye on your email and buy pretty much immediately when anything comes back in stock, or risk basically having to wait for another restock like two or three months later.

I originally purchased three pairs of earrings since their clip-on earrings are buy 2, get 1 free, and I didn’t want to buy too many in case I hated them. Although I personally think they’re pretty affordable, they are still like 18-25-ish dollars per piece, so I didn’t want to go too crazy because six pairs quickly added up to about 60-80 dollars, depending on how much each pair was, as the buy two get 1 free obviously calculates the cheapest pair as the free pair.

Also, the pairs I wanted were all sold out so I kind of just had to make do with three pairs to begin with LOL.

The three I purchased were the original gold loop earrings, Mirrorball, and Bloom for Me. I liked Bloom for Me the most, as I really liked the flower pearl design. I got plain loops because they’re versatile, and then Mirrorball because I have some pearl jewelry I feel would pair well with this one.

First off, I didn’t realize how small these would be. They have an XL version of the clip on earrings as well with a plastic holder that keeps the earrings in place (which I recently purchased, including their Cupid’s Club earring) whereas these one are like a push metal clip that retracts into the hollow earring. An example of the XL clip on earring is below.

I was worried at first that the regular clip on earrings wouldn’t fit as my earlobes are really thick. However, they do fit, with just like a centimeter of give basically. In essence, they literally kind of barely fit.

These are supposed to be pain-free earrings, or at the very least, they’re supposed to be very comfortable. I believe the XL earrings are meant to be completely pain free.

First things first, I put them on and they hurt quite a bit when I put them on. I felt like they were really pinching my ears and I just couldn’t figure out what was wrong. Nothing I did, from adjusting them, to moving them around, etc. did anything to relieve the pain.

I then went on to the Instagram page and realized that I was wearing my earrings backwards from how everyone else was wearing them in the reels LOL.

So I immediately changed the direction and put them back on.

First off, the Bloom for You and Mirrorball earrings are quite heavy. They’re pretty hefty in weight so you definitely feel them on your earlobes. I had to get used to this as I haven’t worn earrings in a long time, so that was a bit of an adjustment.

I’m not sure if there’s like an optimal place to put them on my ear lobe, or if it’s because my earlobes are thicker, but I found that I have had an extremely mixed experience with all of the earrings I’ve purchased from them.

I also received my second shipment, which included some other earrings (the star one, the silver cherry ones, and then both of the XL series earrings). In my previous photos, not all of the earrings pictured were from Lori-Lori, some of them are cheap clip on earrings I got off Aliexpress (in particular, the gold cherry ones in the middle row are from Aliexpress in the previous photos.)

Like I said, I can’t tell if there’s some optimal place to put them on your ear for it to be pain free, but sometimes I put them on and it feels comfortable at first, but an hour or two later, I feel as though my ears have been pinched tightly to death and even taking them off is painful. In particular, I had this experience with the Bloom for You earrings as well as the Mirror ball earrings.

On the other hand, I tried out the heart shaped XL clip on earrings with the plastic fitting, and it pinched the literal hell out of my earlobe the first time I tried them and I was scared to even try putting them back on.

I thought these ones would be more pain free because the plastic part is flexible, but it’s a tighter fit than their regular earrings, and the plastic is not as soft as I imagined they would be based on the videos. For some reason I imagined them to have more flexibility like… almost silicone flexibility? While it does have a tight fight in the image above, it does have enough flexibility to completely open it up without fearing that it will break the plastic or snap it in half.

Anyways, I didn’t want to give up on these earrings, so I kept trying to wear them every day regardless in hopes of maybe it was just a me problem. And some days they really didn’t hurt at all! Other days they hurt like a mofo! I have no clue what the difference was either LOL.

The other day I decided to put on the heart earrings and try them out again, and this time the holder didn’t pinch at all? They were super comfortable, stayed on my ear and didn’t feel like they would fall out, and didn’t pinch at all. I didn’t even feel them. I wore them for like half a day and didn’t have any issues, and they didn’t pinch when I pulled them off.

A lot of the promotional videos on the Instagram showcase the owner (I believe) pulling the earrings off just off the lobe without any issue at all. I have no clue how the videos have those earrings being pulled off without any issue – I tried that, and it felt like it was pinching the hell out of my ear. The only one I didn’t have this issue were the XL ones.

I can’t tell. Am I doing something wrong? Is there really just a learning curve with these earrings?

It’s disappointing because they’re SO freaking cute. The design is top tier, and I absolutely LOVED the XL earrings – the heart ones are my favorite!!

However, I’m wary to buy anymore because I don’t feel like I could wear these comfortably for a day at work without severe ear pain because it’s been such a mixed experience so far.

I haven’t tried just the plain golden hoops or the hoops with the stars on them yet. I wonder if the weight of the pearl earrings have been why they feel more pinched by the end of the day? The heart XL earrings aren’t lightweight by any means, but they aren’t exactly heavy either, so perhaps that’s why it doesn’t hurt as much. I’ll keep trying them out and might update this post.

Regardless, I’ve had such a mixed experience with these earrings that I can’t really decide if I would recommend them or not. Nobody else seems to have an issue except for me, so maybe it’s just because my earlobes are thicker than most people’s?

They are very cute however, and the quality is quite nice for the earrings.

I have such conflicted feelings about these earrings because gosh. They are SO cute. And good quality too! But I just can’t seem to figure out how to wear these without feeling like my ear is being pinched after just an hour or two. And then with the XL heart earrings, I didn’t have any issues at all one day? When at first, they pinched the hell out of my ears as well? It’s just really confusing me.

I think maybe if you have thinner earlobes compared to mine you probably won’t have as many issues as I do. I feel like the reviews on the website and the reels I see are of people with normal sized earlobes (feels kind of weird putting it that way lmfao) then maybe you won’t have the issues I do.

I’m going to keep trying these earrings in the meantime because they’re so cute and I really want to make them work! But, not going to lie, I’ll probably also buy some cheap Aliexpress earrings as well because they have been completely pain free this entire time so… LOL.

Anyways, as always, thank you for reading!

Leave a comment