Judydoll Product Swatches and First Impressions

A million years later, the next post related to my Chic Decent haul! This has taken me quite the amount of time to get to, so I apologize for that.

Here is the list of products I purchased from Judydoll in my Chic Decent haul:

  1. [Limited] Judydoll Blush Powder Never’s Family never 55 for $6.99
  2. [Limited] Judydoll Blush Powder Never’s Family never 58 for $6.99
  3. Judydoll Pop Mart Pucky Flying Babies Gradual Blush PPMT02 for $9.99
  4. Judydoll Starlight Highlighter Powder #04 for $8.99
  5. Judydoll Biscuit Eyeshadow Matte Shining Three Color Palette #08 for $8.99
  6. Judydoll Biscuit Eyeshadow Matte Shining Three Color Palette #13 for $8.99
  7. Judydoll 4 Shades Eyeshadow Palette for Beginners #31 for $10.99

Judydoll is one of the bigger Chinese brands I’d heard of (next to Flortte) which is why I purchased so many of their products in comparison to some of the other brands.

Also, please ignore the wet marks and stuff on my computer mat… I left one of the makeup wipes on top of the mat instead of immediately throwing it away and it seeped into my mat… LOL.

Anyways, let’s get started!

Judydoll Blush Powder Never’s Family never in 55 and 58

I picked up these blushes from this collaboration because I really enjoyed the colors of the blushes, and also because the packaging is really cute… LOL. I’ve been leaning towards pinky blushes as of recent, however I should say that shade 55 is a bit more muted than I originally expected I believe. However, 58 is almost a lavender pink, which is quite popular recently as well I believe, and both colors are gorgeous in the pan.

The pans are quite small, and you get 2g of product with each blush. It seems kind of expensive compared to what you’re getting, especially since they were $6.99 each. I think Judydoll is a bit more expensive than some of the other Chinese mainland brands and I’m guessing it might be because of the quality or the fact that I think it’s quite popular? I’m not sure, but in comparison, I can get full eyeshadow palettes from like GOGO Tales or HOLD LIVE for $6.99, so when you think about it that way, I can’t really say if the blushes were worth the price.

Both colors are quite pretty to be frank, and are decently pigmented considering that my skin is somewhat more tan compared to what I feel like would be the average Chinese girl (who usually strives for really pale skin).

For reference, the first shade is 55 and the bottom shade is 58. I think shade 55 suits my skin tone better, but 58 isn’t so bad either. Just based on the pan, I thought I would prefer 58 more, but in the end I liked 55 more!

The blushes feel somewhat chalky in the pan, especially when using my fingers, but they aren’t patchy nor is there a lot of fall out when I use it.

Honestly, I don’t hate these, but they certainly didn’t wow me either. I’ll admit that I feel like my sense of cost is a little off centered recently, mostly because I don’t buy very many blushes, so I can’t decide if 7 dollars for this blush is overpriced or normal priced as I’ve only really recently shopped at Sephora for blushes lately.

I will admit that I’ve come to the realization that powder blushes are not my favorite type of blush – I prefer cream or liquid-type blushes instead, so I probably wouldn’t repurchase this solely because I prefer a different medium for blush nowadays.

Overall, this was just a meh product for me.

Judydoll Pop Mart Pucky Flying Babies Gradual Blush PPMT02

All right, I really don’t have much to say about this blush, other than I regret buying it. I bought it for the cute packaging (again!!!) and I really liked the color when I saw it online, but in person, it’s just kind of chalky and feels pretty cheap, and I thought it would have a nice gradient, but mixing it together it just gives kind of this powdery snowy pinky color that I personally feel like isn’t flattering on my skin.

It was also kind of expensive at 10 bucks for one of them, although you do get a decent amount of product, plus it has a mirror inside.

Overall, keeping it for the cute packaging, but wouldn’t reach for it again.

Judydoll Starlight Highlighter Powder

This is a really viral highlighter on Xiao Hong Shu and I totally get why. The product is really smooth to use, and doesn’t feel gritty or anything, and the glitter is very fine. It’s got this really gorgeous shimmer to it is more on the subtle side in my opinion, which I prefer. I dislike it when I put highlighter on and it looks like I slapped like party glitter on my face like some cheaper highlighters can look like – this has a very nice, subtle sheen to it almost.

It’s hard to see in the photo/I have no clue how I would’ve captured it in picture, but the highlighter has a sort of duo chrome almost color to it – it has a slightly pinkish color to it as well in certain light, which I absolutely LOVE.

I also just love the packaging. It reminds me of donuts.

Highlighters honestly aren’t my big thing either, but I liked this enough that I would repurchase if I ever ran out.

Judydoll Biscuit Eyeshadow Matte Shining Three Color Palette in #8 and #13

These little mini eyeshadow trios are quite cute at first glance, although admittedly when I saw all the glitter in the matte shades I definitely made a face. I don’t think I remembered if there was that much glitter in the original stock photos, but I think I bought them anyways because even though it has glitter, occasionally, I can make the shadows look matte regardless, so I figured I could maybe do that to these products.

The eyeshadow palette featured above is #8. As you can see the colors are pretty pigmented. They’re a little hard to swatch, in particular that dark red color, but the inner shimmer color is absolutely gorgeous. To be honest, these are pretty small, and at $8.99 a pop, I really can’t decide if this is worth it or not? Honestly the product design itself reminds me a little bit of the Smashbox Photo Edit Eyeshadow Trios but smaller in size and with less product I’d say. I’d also say that layering the shimmer over the matte with glitter colors kind of hides the glitter as well, or they mesh well together, so the glitter ended up not being a huge problem, but I still can’t say I’m in love with it.

I have to say I like the shades in this palette a bit more – the pink shades, that is. I do wish the center was a shimmer like the other palette which is the only disappointing part about palette #13. I find this palette looks like there’s a lot of glitter, but in the swatch, hardly any came off. The only issue with this palette is that I wouldn’t be able to make a full look with it, which would require another palette – not that I’d ever go anywhere with just one palette, but the concept of it, you know? I personally like shimmers in my eyeshadow looks and don’t like all matte eyeshadow looks, so even if this has glitter in it, I wouldn’t say I like it very much on it’s own but paired with another palette it’s not so bad.

They don’t feel too chalky to the touch and were very easy to swatch. I’d say they’re also fairly pigmented. The colors don’t tend to muddy either, but in terms of quality, I feel like just based on touch alone, they don’t feel as nice as other palettes.

The colors are pretty and honestly they’re small and convenient to carry around. I just don’t know if they were worth the price beccause once again, they’re quite small! If anything they feel more like a pan for a single eyeshadow than a full eyeshadow palette. And to be quite frank, you can definitely find better palettes for the same price compared to this series.

Personally, I would pass and would purchase something else.

Judydoll 4 Shades Eyeshadow Palette for Beginners #31

This palette retails for $10.99 and consists of four relatively pinky, basic shades. You get 5.3 grams of product total with this palette. In the above photo it looks REALLY beige, but that was definitely just the shadow and lighting at the time that I took that photo. It is, in fact, a relatively pinky colored palette.

The packaging itself is pretty cute, it’s made of plastic and it closes with a snap close but doesn’t have any sort of “locking” mechanism per se to it. So if that hinge breaks then the lid of the palette it’s going to just be hanging around and about lol. The color scheme is basic but I like that it’s four eyeshadows that could easily make a full eyeshadow look I typically go for.

The eyeshadow in this palette was definitely of better quality than the other eyeshadow palettes I swatched. It wasn’t chalky at all basically, and very smooth. The top right shade actually has glitter fragments in it, but they’re REALLY light and somewhat hard to see. But if you look closely enough you can kind of see it in the swatch. The shimmer isn’t my favorite, but it’s not terrible. The mattes however are very pigmented and smooth, and go on very nicely. To be frank this is very similar to another palette I bought from Meiking which I previously reviewed. I didn’t realize the shades would be so similar because in photo, they don’t look all that close in my opinion.

I’m sure it surprises nobody that I really love this shade range. The colors go on very true to the look in the pan, so long as you’re in natural lighting. I feel like in artificial lighting or in shade, the colors look… very brown. Which is kind of weird.

But otherwise I was actually pretty pleased with this palette! That being said, it does feel kind of overpriced for only being a 4 pan palette.

Once again, especially because I can get palettes cheaper than that and they’ll be full 6-9 pan palettes from GOGO Tales or HOLD LIVE, both of which I’ve had palettes I’ve used that were of excellent quality.

Overall though it isn’t a bad palette, but I don’t think I would repurchase this if I ever hit pan.

Honestly… I feel like Judydoll kind of let me down? Maybe it’s because I focused too heavily on the “cute” versus the practical and good products. But I’ve heard pretty good things about the blushes and stuff from Judydoll, so I feel like I did rely on some other reviews before purchasing some of the products that I did. It’s disappointing, but I probably wouldn’t bother to purchase anything else from Judydoll, unless I saw something REALLY good or they went on sale.

In contrast, I feel like Flortte is similarly priced to Judydoll, but every product I buy from Flortte I always fall head over heels in love with, and the quality is always like ten times better.

To be frank, I think if you’re going to try some Chinese brands, I’d go with Flortte instead. Flortte’s lip products in particular are literally the best and I am obsessed with them. Their eyeliner is also quite good, and their eyeshadow palettes aren’t bad either.

Overall the products were a little disappointing but not so terrible that I can’t make them work.

Sometimes however I feel like I’ve categorized Chinese/Korean/Japanese makeup into this box that they’re so much cheaper and also super high quality compared to Western brands but in reality, a lot of the brands are just as expensive if not more expensive than Western brands. I do generally prefer East Asian brands over Western brands but I really need to get over the whole “Asian brands are cheaper and high quality than Western brands” message in my brain because it’s just absolutely not true lmao.

I would say the highlighter is definitely a great product, but otherwise, I feel like everything else could be skipped.

Anyways hopefully I can get the rest of these Chic Decent haul posts out sooner rather than the next century LOL!

As always, thanks for reading!!

One thought on “Judydoll Product Swatches and First Impressions

  1. Pingback: 2023 Yearly Recap – { Honey + Bunny }

Leave a comment