Hobbii Review

Something a little different from my usual content – instead of reviewing a makeup or skincare third party seller, today I want to talk about my review of Hobbii.

Hobbii is an online e-commerce retailer that sells products for fiber art hobbyists. I believe they focus mostly on knitting and crochet but I haven’t taken that close of a look at their rather extensive website.

Hobbii is located in Copenhagen, Denmark and they feature a huge variety of yarn from many various brands, and also host their own Hobbii brand yarn. They have patterns for sale and for free, tons of yarn of every weight and fiber make up, and what appears to be quite literally every kind of knitting or crochet tool in existence.

I typically try to purchase from my local yarn shop(s), of which I am extremely lucky to have several in the general area around me, with the furthest being around 30 minutes away (from my house, but only 10 or so minutes from my work!), and the closest being a literal walk down the street from me. I’ve been to two local yarn shops in the area around me and they both stocked a wide breadth of yarn in every color scheme and of different fiber types and weights. They stock cheaper more cost effective brands and synthetic fibers, and of course, also stock many more expensive brands and skeins, and both had sections dedicated to local indie dyers and yarn makers and international brands. Honestly, I love going into my local yarn store and just perusing all of the beautiful yarn, even if I’m still really only using pretty cheap skeins at this time because I’m still just a beginner.

I was looking to get some affordable alpaca, or merino, or mohair yarn and looked up some recommendations of yarn e-commerce websites, and found Hobbii and Wool & Co. I’ve ordered from both, but I ordered a book from Wool & Co that would’ve been more expensive for me to ship to America from the UK than the extremely slight up-charged price on Wool & Co, while I only bought yarn from Hobbii.

I didn’t give the website a super extensive look, but it’s pretty clear at first glance that Hobbii offers a pretty huge arrange of yarn products and knitting and crochet supplies. There’s patterns, including free patterns or paid ones, yarns, knitting needles, crochet hooks, accessories, and so forth. I was actually a little overwhelmed at first but started by looking at all of their deals.

I ultimately kind of impulsively purchased their Alpaca Blaze yarn. I looked through their mohair/merino/alpaca blends and the Alpaca Blaze was the only one that either 1) had the color I wanted in stock and 2) was REALLY affordable.

I know everyone recommends Drops yarn for cheap natural fiber yarn, but I believe Drops pretty much only sells on like two??? websites online??? And it’s still around $6 a skein, and since I was looking to make a practice sweater with this (before sacrificing my really nice mohair yarn I got from Japan lol) I wasn’t really looking to spend a lot if I could.

The Alpaca Blaze yarn was only $3.50 a skein, and there were extensive reviews listing that it was an affordable and soft yarn. I wasn’t expecting like TOO much since it’s a 40% Acrylic, 30% Alpaca, 30% Polyamide blend, but I figured it wouldn’t be too bad considering the reviews and the images I saw online.

I ordered 15 skeins of the colorway 38 Ballet (the very pinky pink color) and 45 Creamy Peach (the more muted, dusty pink color).

Creamy Peach, by chance, also matches almost to a T color wise to the mohair yarn I have from Japan.

I ordered pretty late at night if I recall correctly, and within like 10 minutes I had a notification that my order had already shipped and had already been issued a tracking number. I was SUPER surprised lmao. However, I think because I ordered late at night, it must have already been daylight working hours in Copenhagen which is why it arrived so quickly. I think most people get their packages shipped out in 2 or so business days. But I was quite impressed with how fast it shipped out. Shipping was free as my total cost was just over $100.00.

My package arrived shortly afterwards – only like 5 or 6 days I think? Honestly I was really impressed with how smooth check out was, and how fast it went from purchased right to my door.

The Alpaca Blaze yarn in particular is not super soft, but it’s not rough either. It’s very fluffy and the strand is very fine, as is typical of lace-weight yarns. While it isn’t as buttery soft as I was hoping it would be, it still isn’t itchy at all, and I’m quite sensitive to fibers but it didn’t bother me when I brushed it up against my wrist/neck or anything, so I’m honestly not upset about it.

I couldn’t decide if I used the Creamy Peach color to make a practice sweater of the one I’ve been wanting to make with my mohair yarn from Japan, or if I started off with something simpler to lead up to the practice sweater as I’m honestly not a super good knitter yet.

In the end, I decided to pair the Ballet yarn with I believe a weight 4 yarn that is also made of alpaca and super soft. While the Alpaca Blaze yarn makes my Ella Rae yarn less soft, it does give the cardigan a nice fluffy texture that I like, and it is still extremely soft and not itchy at all. The two colors are also a literal perfect color match so I’m pretty excited to see how this turns out.

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with my purchase from Hobbii. I do think it’s an overwhelming website and because of that, it makes it a little hard for me to enjoy browsing the yarn on it, but it has a huge array of selection and variety, plus it has a lot of sales, so I’ll definitely continue to purchase off of it, because if there’s one thing I can’t resist, it’s a good deal. (Especially considering how expensive yarn can get!)

It also has a number of yarn brands that I believe are Hobbii’s own produced brands, as in, Hobbii produces yarn too and doesn’t just host yarn on their website. I think most of the stuff that goes on sale is usually their own brand. That being said, I do want to look into other online e-commerce websites for yarn, especially because I’m interested in Drops, aside from shopping at my local yarn store, of course.

Ultimately, I was very happy with my purchase, and will continue to keep an eye on this website for the future. I’ve also seen some of the yarn on this website recommended by some fellow knitters and crocheters, so I’m definitely interested in trying out more yarn from them!

Leave a comment